Unless the State Board deems a claim catastrophic, 400 weeks is the maximum amount of time that a worker can obtain monetary and medical treatment for a Georgia workers’ compensation claim. However, there are many situations where a worker cannot return to work after the 400 weeks. In these situations, the Law Offices of Laura Lanzisera is dedicated to obtaining catastrophic designation from the State Board so that the worker receives lifetime medical treatment and lifetime monetary weekly compensation benefits.
Categories for catastrophic injury include:
- Spinal cord injury involving severe paralysis of an arm, leg or trunk;
- Amputation of arm, hand, foot or leg involving effective use of that appendage;
- Severe brain or closed head injury;
- Second or third degree burns over 25% of the body as whole or third degree burns to 5% or more of the face or hands;
- Total or industrial blindness; or
- Any other injury of a nature in severity that prevents the employee from being able to perform his/her work and any work available in substantial numbers within the national economy for which the employee is qualified.
Many factors determine whether your claim will be deemed catastrophic – the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation looks at your injury, age, education, work experience and transferable skills. Contact our office to determine if you or your loved one has an injury which qualifies as catastrophic. The Law Offices of Laura Lanzisera can help you obtain catastrophic designation for your Georgia work injury.