What if my Employer does not have workers’ compensation insurance?
- December 14, 2018
- Laura Lanzisera
- No comments
In Georgia, an employer who has at least three part-time or full time employees must have workers’ compensation insurance coverage. If the business is incorporated or an LLC, the corporate officers or members are included in the three or more employees count regardless whether they exempt themselves from coverage.
Exceptions to coverage requirements include railroad carriers, US government agencies, foreign labors, and domestic servants.
If the employer does not have coverage then the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation can hold them liable and the employer may face serious penalties, such as:
- Misdemeanor charges against the employer
- Criminal penalties of up to one year in jail and fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000
- Fines of $500 to $5,000 for each violation
The State Board of Workers’ Compensation has an Enforcement Division, which is responsible for maintaining, monitoring, enforcement of the requirements, which holds employers responsible for maintaining workers’ compensation coverage in Georgia.
If you have any questions regarding workers’ compensation insurance for your employer, please contact the Law Offices of Laura Lanzisera for a free consultation.